In Response To The Suggestion That GOP Talking Points Are Merely A Reflection Of Christian Values

I recently had an exchange with an old friend on social media in which I responded to her, out of exasperation, by suggesting that her thoughts all seemed to be GOP talking points (or something to that effect). Her response was long, and, included numerous questions, which, as you can see, I did not take to be rhetorical in nature. I wanted to respond, but, it was way too much for a Facebook comment. So, I wrote this blog post. My friend’s words are in bold, and, my responses are directly beneath the bolded section.      

“it’s interesting that you would say that. The Bible tells me what is important. When you hear about talking points of the right it is because you are listening to more Judeo Christian biblical principled talking points. That’s why they sound so familiar to you. You just are inserting politics into what the Bible teaches us that we’re to be because you’ve been conditioned to have a disdain for it.”

The GOP talking points are Christian Talking Points? That’s interesting. More interesting is that my rejection of GOP talking points amounts to a “disdain” for “what the Bible teaches us.” I would say that I feel any way but disdainful of the New Testament’s values, and message, (though I am occasionally disdainful of the way in which certain sections have been interpreted). I certainly wouldn’t say that the Bible is a series of “talking points,” though. Talking points are  the crafted message of a political party designed to undermine the other party, and, to elevate their own party. The Good News is a fixed message which does not manipulate, capitulate, or triangulate, in search of the most probable path to victory. Political parties do that – which is just one reason that I don’t align with any particular political party.       

But we’ve been formed to depend on God for our supply.  Not government. 

God is your supply, and yet, you go to work. Is this out of a lack of faith? No, of course not. We have to work to eat – well, most of us. We also can’t say, “I’ll let injustice resolve itself, because God is in control.” Well, we can say that, but, we certainly wouldn’t be following in the steps of Jesus, who excoriated the accumulation of wealth while there was so much poverty, and, who fought for the marginalized and the outcast. Further, our government is a democratic republic. The implications of that are that WE get to decide, as a Nation, what the rules of the game are. These rules are not fixed or static – they weren’t fixed in the ancient world, and, they certainly are not in our own. Consider the prevailing interpretation of “render unto Caesar.” That interpretation says that Jesus was saying, pay the civil government, and, pay your tithe to God. If you adhere to that interpretation, then, you’re stuck paying whatever taxes your government dictates. In a democratic republic, those dictates are subject to the will of the majority of the people, through the representatives that they elect, and, subject to change. I don’t rely on Government as though it were some form of deity; I speak with respect to what measures I believe our government should take – as is my civic duty. You are free to disagree with me, with respect to the conclusions we both reach. But, you are not free to suggest that my conclusions are out of disdain for Biblical values, because they are out of step with the GOP.    

But it’s interesting that you wanted to call me on that.  Because I have come to wonder what original convictions you have about things? You argue your points by giving me someone else’s argument. 

If a person relies only on their own thoughts, without consideration for what other people have contributed, then, they will never experience what is meant by, “iron sharpens iron.” A well reasoned mind knows better than to simply assume that they don’t need to consider the insights of others – especially others who have reached competing conclusions. This is how we identify our own blind spots, among other things.

Your constantly posting this article or that article about what you think about things said by someone else. 

I stand as accused. I read things, and, then, I have thoughts on what I read. Friends of all different backgrounds have then chimed in to contribute their own well informed opinions, which come from all different ends of the political spectrum. I learn from them, and, I hope they learn from me… because, none of us are right about everything, and, to make matters worse, we don’t even know what things we are wrong about – that is the nature of being mistaken.

If a Christian falls, you post it. You act like you are different. “See! We have to be better!!!”  That’s like baby talk.  Your smarter than that.  You should be more original. 

This particular section was quite interesting to read. I have a personal rule: No matter what motivated someone to criticize me, I will consider the criticism and try to see if there is merit in it. This serves three purposes. First, it is a conscious effort by me to not become defensive; if the person wasn’t meaning to be malicious, I can avoid damaging a relationship by treating their comment as if it was meant that way. Second, it allows me the chance to see if there is an area for growth that I wasn’t aware I needed to focus on. Third, it takes the power out of the words of someone who WAS being malicious. I have taken their intent to injure, and, turned it into an opportunity for personal growth. Now, back to this section of your comment. Yes, I post when a believer falls. If you think we should be keeping it under wraps, then, I can only say that I think that you’re mistaken. “The (secular) world” already read the story; they are already aghast at the conduct. The believer  – maybe they haven’t read it yet, but, they need to read it. They need to know how it happened, and, how to protect their family and their flock. “We have to be better,” is the best summation of The Apostle Paul’s writings that I could come up with, so, I think I’ll stick with it, thanks. “That’s like baby talk.  Your smarter than that.  You should be more original,” are all ad hominin attacks – they are directed at me, and, not at the substance of anything that I said, however, I will offer a brief response: It is not “baby talk;” alas, I am not smarter than this; and, I will indeed continue to strive to be, “more original,” so long as it is not at the cost of reason, or values.   

We aren’t on trial.  When the argument is over it’s not going to matter what the US said about it. Or what the Atlantic said about it or NPR.  It’s going to matter what we were and who represented God and let Him decide what is right or wrong.  You might think you know it all which means you don’t know half of what you think you do.  You are challenging answers without really hearing anyone.  And that’s because you really have already figured it out.  Bear with the rest of us, like many have done for you. We’re not all perfect yet. And a lot of us just vote on the right.

I really struggled with where to break this section up. It’s… it’s a lot. So, I agree – we are not on trial here, on social media. However, a lot of people listen to what you have to say. You reinforce an echo chamber, and, can’t seem to find a blessed thing on the right that requires challenging. I believe that we are all wrong about some of the things that we are sure that we are right about – myself included. With that being said, we cannot – and I will not, give up the fight for truth over echo chambers. If someone wants to unfriend me, or block me, that’s up to them. But, for as long as I am connected to someone in social media, or real life, I’m going to try to engage them, understand where they are coming from, and, try to have a dialogue. The exchanges don’t always go great on this medium; intonation, and, basic humanness can get lost. But, it’s the forum that I have, at the moment. I engage you in an effort to hear you. Plenty have told me that I’m wasting my time. They are the people who just keep scrolling. But, I know that I am shocked by what seeds took root, and, hopeful that any good seed that I plant will have a chance to grow, however, long it takes. The words of Five Iron Frenzy in “Banner Year,” fell on what seemed like deaf ears when I heard the song. It would be years before they took root. I pray, and have faith, that the seeds of my misguided words will wither. If we lack that faith, then, we had better all keep our mouths shut, because, once again, we are likely all wrong about something which we are dead certain we are right about. I’m far from perfect. I don’t always agree with Paul, but, I get what he means when he says that he’s the chief of sinners. It isn’t false humility – it is a recognition of the depths of one’s own flaws and errors. But, like Paul, I’m not content to sit quietly until I’ve concluded that I am perfect. And, no, I don’t think I’m as important as Paul, except to the extent that we are all as important as Paul, and, Paul is no more important than any of us.    

But the things we believe in, have nothing to do with what you think are man made views on things. 

A close study of the Bible, and, a cursory study of how each denomination has interpreted the Bible, tell me that what many Christians “believe in,” is extremely man-made, and, that is very much the problem. The AG used to use the Bible to justify banning bowling, dancing, make up, jewelry, and on, and on… Those Biblical-bans have gone the way of the buffalo – along with the church’s pre-1967 position on Christian participation in war. The “things we believe,” are often quite influenced by men, and, just as often, evoked in the name of God.

We’ve just grown up with our eyes wide open.  And know when we’re too close to the fire of what Gods word divides.  And that’s not a political thing.  That’s something bigger than an opinion. And to think it as trite as a talking point ? Your too old for that.

Again, attaching God to GOP politics is just evidence of conflating your religion with your politics, not demonstrating a genuine connection between the two. The GOP and the DNC each take positions that are at odds with the New Testament. Let’s examine a few of these really quickly:

Abortion – if we are saying that abortion is against civil law, because, from day one the fertilized zygote is a human being, then, we need to use civil law to make sure that the babies that would have been aborted are not going to starve as a result of their birth. To refuse to do so, is to condemn many, many, people to lives of misery and suffering.  

Leviticus 19:10 directs that foreigners be permitted to live among the Israelites, and were allowed to glean with the poor. Yet, in the most prosperous nation that the world has ever seen, the GOP’s position on the border is to cage, or imprison anyone who sojourns to our land. The New Testament tells us that there is no longer Jew and gentile, but, to the born again/evangelical church, there sure as heck is a much more significant distinction: American or Illegal. What verses should we use to support that position?

The Democrats often have overt hostility to Israel. A point that GOP Christians love to fixate on. The Democrats are wrong to do this, because it oversimplifies a complex situation, and, blames every individual for the sins of governments. In much the same way, the Christian is wrong to support government sanctioned drone strikes which indiscriminately blow up innocents; I guess those innocents don’t matter as much as the unborn American baby, because… the dead weren’t born in America?

The GOP supports the death penalty, wasting over $4 million for every execution, and, wreaking emotional havoc on the people who are tasked by the state with carrying out and witnessing the execution. This is not only a wasteful position, it’s also diametrically opposed to the Gospel.

I could go on, but, I’ve already invested quite a bit of time to this, and, I don’t think more can be justified, unless there is some desire to have a dialogue. Especially if the response is a reflexive, “well the Democrats are worse because….” I’m sorry, but, my morality and ethics are not contingent upon what someone else says or does. Both sides take deplorable positions on certain issues, and, what the one side does or does not do is no excuse for turning a blind eye to the hypocrisy and sin of the other. That kind of thinking is something for which we are all too old.  

Leave a comment